|
|
|
#1 (permalink) |
|
Messages: n/a
Hébergeur: |
<rant_mode>
WTF do people still send out bounces for non-existent email addresses? Some f**ker is using one of my domains for dictionary style spamming and I got nearly 2K bounces this morning. I hate people who set up these bounces almost as much as I hate spammers. </rant_mode> |
|
|
|
#2 (permalink) |
|
Messages: n/a
Hébergeur: |
On Wed, 29 Aug 2007 23:34:40 +0100, Martin Harran <nospam@martinharran.com> wrote:
><rant_mode> > > WTF do people still send out bounces for non-existent email addresses? Some > f**ker is using one of my domains for dictionary style spamming and I got > nearly 2K bounces this morning. > > I hate people who set up these bounces almost as much as I hate spammers. > ></rant_mode> > > You could not be more wrong. Also use procmail to filter the nounces out, temporarily. i |
|
|
|
#3 (permalink) |
|
Messages: n/a
Hébergeur: |
Martin Harran wrote:
> <rant_mode> > > WTF do people still send out bounces for non-existent email > addresses? Some f**ker is using one of my domains for dictionary > style spamming and I got nearly 2K bounces this morning. > > I hate people who set up these bounces almost as much as I hate > spammers. > </rant_mode> Report as many as you can to www.spamcop.net since it is a form of spam.. |
|
|
|
#4 (permalink) |
|
Messages: n/a
Hébergeur: |
Ignoramus31174 wrote:
> On Wed, 29 Aug 2007 23:34:40 +0100, Martin Harran > <nospam@martinharran.com> wrote: >> <rant_mode> >> >> WTF do people still send out bounces for non-existent email >> addresses? Some f**ker is using one of my domains for dictionary >> style spamming and I got nearly 2K bounces this morning. >> >> I hate people who set up these bounces almost as much as I hate >> spammers. >> >> </rant_mode> >> >> > > You could not be more wrong. Also use procmail to filter the nounces > out, temporarily. > He isnt wrong. If you cant bounce DURING the SMTP connection you should NOT bounce at all. It is reportable to SpamCop... http://www.spamcop.net/fom-serve/cache/329.html |
|
|
|
#5 (permalink) |
|
Messages: n/a
Hébergeur: |
Hi Martin -
On Wed, 29 Aug 2007 23:34:40 +0100, "Martin Harran" <nospam@martinharran.com> wrote: ><rant_mode> > >WTF do people still send out bounces for non-existent email addresses? Some >f**ker is using one of my domains for dictionary style spamming and I got >nearly 2K bounces this morning. > >I hate people who set up these bounces almost as much as I hate spammers. > ></rant_mode> Right on. That's a clear sign that whoever is responsible for the bounce-generating server doesn't know what the heck they're doing. Or knows and doesn't, which is worse. As far as I'm concerned, unless I need to receive email from that server, a router block is the remedy of choice. -- Ken http://www.kensims.net/ |
|
|
|
#6 (permalink) |
|
Messages: n/a
Hébergeur: |
"Martin Harran" <nospam@martinharran.com> wrote in message news:5jmak8Fb0huU1@mid.individual.net... > <rant_mode> > > WTF do people still send out bounces for non-existent email addresses? > Some f**ker is using one of my domains for dictionary style spamming and I > got nearly 2K bounces this morning. > > I hate people who set up these bounces almost as much as I hate spammers. > > </rant_mode> It could be that this is the spam you are receiving. I've received spam where it was made to look like I tried to email spam to somebody and it was being bounced back to me or replied to via an autoreply |
|
|
|
#7 (permalink) |
|
Messages: n/a
Hébergeur: |
"Auggie" <Imperial.Palace@Rome.It> wrote in message
news:CauBi.4539$Pd4.4097@edtnps82... > > "Martin Harran" <nospam@martinharran.com> wrote in message > news:5jmak8Fb0huU1@mid.individual.net... >> <rant_mode> >> >> WTF do people still send out bounces for non-existent email addresses? >> Some f**ker is using one of my domains for dictionary style spamming and >> I got nearly 2K bounces this morning. >> >> I hate people who set up these bounces almost as much as I hate >> spammers. >> >> </rant_mode> > > It could be that this is the spam you are receiving. > > I've received spam where it was made to look like I tried to email spam to > somebody and it was being bounced back to me or replied to via an > autoreply Yes, its known as a Reverse NDR attack ((http://www.cryer.co.uk/glossary/r/reverse_ndr.htm). The spammer uses a remote server to delivery spam by setting the sender's address to the email address of the target. As the OP correctly said, this is indicative that the server generating the NDR's is mis-configured. The server should reject the email at the point of delivery, not receive it and then generate an NDR. I don't know about other email systems, but the out of the box Microsoft Exchange (2003) settings allow this type of relaying although it can (and should) be disabled. Hopefully Microsoft have changed their default configuration for Exchange 2007. -- Brian Cryer www.cryer.co.uk/brian |
|
|
|
#8 (permalink) |
|
Messages: n/a
Hébergeur: |
On Thu, 30 Aug 2007 10:24:48 +0100, "Brian Cryer"
<brian.cryer@127.0.0.1.ntlworld.com> wrote: >As the OP correctly said, this is indicative that the server generating the >NDR's is mis-configured. The server should reject the email at the point of >delivery, not receive it and then generate an NDR. I don't know about other >email systems, but the out of the box Microsoft Exchange (2003) settings >allow this type of relaying although it can (and should) be disabled. >Hopefully Microsoft have changed their default configuration for Exchange >2007. I just came here to see if anyone else was getting this also, I've gotten about 7k bounced, autoresponder, etc messages (and 1 "plz remove me from your list" message lol) It's all happening on domain for a website I run, but I dont pay for the domain or hosting (both through Godaddy), is there anything I can tell the person who does pay for it to tell Godaddy to stop it? -- If it keeps up, man will atrophy all his limbs but the push-button finger. ~Frank Lloyd Wright - www.cynode.com | (NSFW) www.cynbabes.com (NWS) |
|
![]() |
| Outils de la discussion | |
|
|