"Blinky the Shark" <no.spam@box.invalid> wrote in message
news:slrnfdi1dp.6d8.no.spam@thurston.blinkynet.net ...
<snip>
> A few years ago I installed a little PHP script at blinkynet for contact
> emailing. It was a freebie, but required a visual plug for the
> company/author appear with the form (and on the mail-send-confirmed
> page).
>
> Now whois shows a new creation date in Nov 2006 for the domain, and it
> seems to have nothing to do with whomever I got the script from.
>
> Here's the old apparently one-page site from which I got the script, as
> it appears at the way-back archive from Jan 1 '04.
>
> http://tinyurl.com/yr2vzv
>
> Here's the new outfit that has the same name.
>
> http://scriptsthatwork.com/
>
> Looks like some kind of whatever you call sites that are nothing but
> links to other sites. And not at all focused: essays for college
> students, health, vacation, blah blah blah.
>
> Opinions, please. Do I owe *these* guys the mentions and links?
Firstly, I'm not a lawyer ...
This is a tricky one, and I think all I'm able to do is summarise the issues
as I see it.
1. The domain has clearly changed hands or been abandoned. What is there now
is really just a fancy holding page. Following the links I think its owned
now by "enom.com", who are clearly just domain name resellers. So whoever
owns the copyright it clearly isn't with this domain any more.
2. The conditions of use of the script are that you keep the copyright
notice and do not remove any references to ScriptsThatWork.com.
So, on point 1 I would have throught you would be free to drop the link but
on point 2 you are clearly bound to keep it. Shame.
If it were me I'd abandon the script (thereby side stepping the issue) and
replace it with either someone elses or write my own. Since you're capable,
I'd suggest going the route of putting your own together. That way you could
also get rid of those pesky <font> tags (grin).
--
Brian Cryer
www.cryer.co.uk/brian