Hi all
I look after the website of a local AIDS charity. This includes
collecting the access logs and putting the info into a database for a
simple stats page I put together. lately, the web logs have been showing
hits like these:
+---------------------+------------------------------------+
| time | referer |
+---------------------+------------------------------------+
| 2006-11-21 04:38:40 |
http://www.fast-search-engine.com/ |
| 2006-12-20 07:56:06 |
http://www.identity-tracker.com |
| 2006-12-20 07:57:32 |
http://www.identity-tracker.com |
| 2006-12-21 09:06:01 |
http://www.fast-search-engine.com/ |
| 2006-12-21 09:06:14 |
http://www.fast-search-engine.com/ |
| 2007-01-25 07:02:43 |
http://www.jetzy.com |
| 2007-01-25 07:02:44 |
http://www.jetzy.com |
| 2007-01-25 07:02:44 |
http://www.jetzy.com |
| 2007-01-25 07:02:44 |
http://www.jetzy.com |
| 2007-01-25 07:02:45 |
http://www.jetzy.com |
| 2007-01-26 08:11:44 |
http://www.identity-tracker.com |
| 2007-01-26 08:11:45 |
http://www.identity-tracker.com |
| 2007-01-26 08:11:45 |
http://www.identity-tracker.com |
| 2007-01-26 08:11:45 |
http://www.identity-tracker.com |
| 2007-01-26 08:11:45 |
http://www.identity-tracker.com |
| 2007-02-15 05:01:25 |
http://www.jetzy.com |
| 2007-02-15 05:01:26 |
http://www.jetzy.com |
| 2007-02-15 05:01:26 |
http://www.jetzy.com |
| 2007-02-15 05:01:26 |
http://www.jetzy.com |
| 2007-02-15 05:01:27 |
http://www.jetzy.com |
| 2007-02-23 13:08:51 |
http://www.identity-tracker.com |
| 2007-02-23 13:08:52 |
http://www.identity-tracker.com |
| 2007-02-23 13:08:53 |
http://www.identity-tracker.com |
| 2007-02-23 13:08:53 |
http://www.identity-tracker.com |
| 2007-02-23 13:08:54 |
http://www.identity-tracker.com |
+---------------------+------------------------------------+
The user agent given for the hits above is either simply 'Mozilla/4.0'
(for the fast-search-engine.com hits) or Firefox/1.5.0.6 for the rest.
The above URLs go to those horrible generic-looking sites with tons of
commercial links and no signs of life. None of the sites appears to have
a link to my site.
Can anybody explain what is going on here? Is this any form of
legitimate activity or should I filter it out of the stats?
Many thanks